My Pillow

My Pillow

My pillow is worn out.
Deliriously cashing its paycheck…
Where sick and vacation
Means overtime hours.

My pillow is worn out.
Holding all my dreams…
Where owls try to feed on cats
And 1964 is frequently visited.

My pillow is worn out.
Like a heroin addict…
It’s veins are collapsing
And it just wants to nod off.

My pillow is worn out.
But I need it to nod off…
When I’m worn out
From all the overtime.

My pillow is worn out.
We are in a codependent relationship…
Trust me though, it’s healthy-
We make sense together,
We are there for one another,
We create new worlds together!

We need each other.
Like these words need
Each
Other.

Leave a Reply

